Are you happy now?

hell-freezes-overWe weren’t able to have Ethridge Jiu-Jitsu class at the dojo yesterday, so I went to the beginner no-gi class at Lincoln BJJ Center instead, and I guess it’s been awhile since I’ve attended that class, because when I walked in, Conan asked if hell had frozen over! I’m not saying that Lincoln is hell, but I almost wish it would freeze over here, because summer is supposed to be finished, but it was around 90° when I went to class yesterday, so I was happy to not be wearing a gi!

There were about eight of us in class, but I only knew half of them by name (since it was mostly white belts, except Jerad and I), and for drilling I chose to work with Dave M., because he’s one of the few older students at LBJJC (like myself), and he’s a super nice guy. He was very complimentary during class, he kept telling me how awesomely I was doing everything, but I was thinking it’s just matter of perspective, because if I had been doing the same drills with someone more experienced, like Conan or Jerad, I’m sure they would have found plenty of things that I was doing wrong!

Conan had us practicing some sweeps from x-guard, and normally during positional sparring, I do try to get the techniques of the day, but I don’t consider them to be the only option, and since I mainly attend the advanced classes (where I have slim to no chance of getting a submission on most of my partners!), I like to take the opportunity in the beginner classes to try to work on some subs when I can. At one point during positional grappling yesterday, I was attempting an armbar, and Conan gave me hard time about it, saying “That doesn’t look like x-guard.”, so I immediately transitioned to x-guard, swept my partner, and ended in side control, then I looked over at Conan and asked “Are you happy now?”.

bjj-happy

This is probably what Conan was thinking yesterday!

I had already tried to get that same sweep earlier, and I was surprised by how quickly I was able to execute it after Conan said something to me, because I think it’s actually the first time I’ve ever gotten any kind of x-guard sweep in live sparring, so I thought “Wow, look what I can do when I put my mind to it!”, but it was really Conan who inspired me. So, if he could just watch my rolls in the advanced classes and say things like “You can’t submit anyone!”, maybe it would motivate me (just to prove him wrong ;).

I had some other successes during rolling yesterday (including a sub!) and it was good to feel like an advanced student in the beginner class, and to see my skills through the eyes of a newer practitioner, who was suitably impressed. Even after all these years in Jiu-Jitsu, sometimes I still feel like I have no idea what I’m doing (especially in no-gi!), so it’s nice to have days like yesterday, which help to show me otherwise.

Leave a comment